WHEN THE RAIN COMES WE WILL BE THANKFUL

I made black bean soup from scratch the other day. I soaked organic black beans overnight and simmered them the next evening for hours, with fresh bay, tomatoes, water, onion, limes, cherry tomatoes and cumin. It was the best black bean soup I’ve ever had, and so simple to make.

Kept lunch simple with falafel, romaine and shredded chicken. My friends always like to point out that my nails are in a perpetual state of chipped-ness. I guess they were right.

Leftover beans went into tacos the next night, alongside roasted vegetables and a weird slaw that I made from these bitter greens we bought on a whim at the Farmer’s Market.  I wish I had asked what they were. They were sort of spindly, kind of pointy, almost sharp, and very bitter, but when dressed with a little lime and oil, super tasty.

I roasted bundles of red carrots from the farmer’s market with one potato, and made guacamole, too. The vegetables went in a hot 400 degree oven and I added 1 cup of broth from the black bean soup halfway through. They absorb all the liquid and cook perfectly. I can’t get over all this affordable citrus in January. It just doesn’t feel right! But I’m not complaining.

Leave a Reply

