AM IN LOVE WITH THE HOOK UPON WHICH EVERYONE HANGS

Sometimes above all else, I value vivid color in my food. The other night I fried farmer’s market banana fingerlings in butter, smoked paprika and with a handful of roasted beets. The potatoes turned a lovely deep blush fuschia color. The next day, when I cubed the leftover fingerlings for a simple potato/beet hash, I saw that their creamy white insides formed an insane gradient. Ombre potatoes!!!

Three-day old (!) escarole salad still crisp, cold and bitter the next day, with thinly sliced Belgian white endives, roasted walnuts and a mustard-lemon vinaigrette.

Leftover broiled salmon, marinated in cumin, olive oil, lime zest and cilantro.

Any excuse to make guacamole. Salmon and avocado is one of the most blissful combinations ever. Fat, with more fat. Creamy, on top of creamy. Somehow you’ve convinced yourself that it’s all so healthy, too. PS I bought a bag of 9 avocados at the farmer’s market for $2. WHAT! I love so much being back in California.

I sat down to eat lunch inside but right away I saw how beautiful it was outside and fled to the deck.

Ahhh, that’s better. If you could pan out on this shot you would see Joni sprawled on the patio table eyeing my salmon with desire. Reread ‘Self-Help’ for the twentieth time under the clear gaze of the chilly February sun and tried to convince myself that it’s not extravangant and/or pathetic to cook elaborate meals just for yourself.

“KEEPING YOUR FINGERS CROSSED MAKES IT DIFFICULT TO HOLD A PEN, BUT I MUST SAY, IT’S WORTH IT.” -Lorrie Moore

2 responses to “AM IN LOVE WITH THE HOOK UPON WHICH EVERYONE HANGS

  1. Love this! And I agree…it has to have color and textures!

  2. absolutely. that may be why beets are one of my favorite foods of all time. come to think of it, that may also be why cottage cheese is one of my LEAST favorite foods of all time. ;)

Leave a Reply

