TOUR FOOD

Since we had five extra people staying with us this weekend (I posted about the concert Sunday night at Popcorn Youth), in honor of the final day of the Olympics – and the final hockey game of America vs. Canada – I cooked a gigantic pot of vegetarian chili to feed the 9 people that needed to eat. Since I didn’t have a lot of time or money, I used canned beans, but the organic, unsalted beans at Whole Feeds are actually really good and not so expensive (they were .89 for a 12 oz can at my store). 

I used two 12 oz. cans each of organic pintos, black beans and kindney beans, plus a 12 oz. can of canned fire roasted diced tomatoes and 24oz of low sodium vegetable broth and added water as needed. But first, I fried celery stalks, red onion, carrots, red bell peppers, and zucchini in a gigantic stock pot with olive oil and added tons of cumin, tumeric, fresh black pepper, red pepper flakes and smoked red paprika for kind of a bastardized curry zone. Then I added the juice of 2 limes and half a small can of smoked chiles in adobo (the final chili was VERY spicy, so use sparingly!). After a good fry, I added the tomatoes, broth, and then the beans, and brought everything to a simmer for about 30 minutes.

Afterwards I let everyone assemble their perfect bowl. I had spicy tortilla chips, shredded sharp cheddar cheese, diced scallions and fresh cilantro and lime wedges lined up on the counter, and we ate our vegetarian chili with cold beers and salsa fresca out in the sun in between periods.

America may have lost, but this was a winner. I think musicians on tour really appreciate fresh, homemade food that’s healthy and heavy on vegetables and I’m happy to be amenable to their needs!

Leave a Reply

