THIS IS HOW WE WALK ON THE MOON

If you’re ever in La Jolla, you’d be remiss to skip the killer Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institute of Oceanography. As a little girl, tracing my fingers in the sun-kissed tide pools and gazing at the ethereal jellyfish were among my favorite things to do ever. I would trick or treat at the aquarium on Halloween and take summer camps there every year. I dreamt about kelp and shark teeth and chambered nautilus. So last week, I made a long overdue visit. It was better than I remembered.  It’s amazing how much sea life reminds me of space life, both in the way things float and unfurl and jet about but also in the way things look so completely, utterly, overwhelmingly alien.  It was very Avatar. The last photo – of these insane sand worms – are pretty much what I imagine the surface of Hades to look like.

3 responses to “THIS IS HOW WE WALK ON THE MOON

  1. did you take those photos? they’re insane. they look beautiful + like outerspace.

  2. yes! it was so hypnotic. i couldn’t tear myself away. the way they propel themselves in the water was super outerspace.

    people seem to have fish tanks in their homes with boring fish in them. how come no one has fish tanks with jellyfish in them? because that would be so. rad.
    hmmmmmm……..

  3. the first photo reminds me of the painting i did called ” the space between”. i love the pics. love you.

Leave a Reply

