LOUISE BOURGEOIS & EQUILIBRIUM

Louise Bourgeois, 1911-2010.

I became a huge fan of Louise Bourgeois only in the last year or so, when I saw an extensive amount of her work at a show at the Pompidou. Witty, tactile, poetic and irrepressibly feminine. Deeply obsessed with symbols and the body. Her biography at the Pompidou quoted her as saying that she was always working towards “a sensual quest for visual, tactile and visceral equilibrium.”

She was best known for her work as a sculptor, but I find myself most drawn to her quieter early-era engravings and watercolors. The two photos I took didn’t come out well but I’ll post them anyway. RIP.

Leave a Reply

