SUBLIME OFFERINGS

Earlier this summer, I was doing research for a piece on Singaporean music for Signal to Noise. My friend Hisham Mayet of Sublime Frequencies recommended that I get in touch with Los Angeles ex-pat, writer, and music archivist William Gibson (no, not that William Gibson), who released the compilation Singapore A-Go-Go on Sublime late last year.

We hung out in Singapore and he took me record shopping around Chinatown. After I returned to Oregon, he emailed me a bunch of scans of 45″s from his personal collection.  Aren’t they incredible?? I love everything about them — the candy colors, explosion of fonts, the demure, pretty girls + faux-gruff men in silk neckties.

Leave a Reply

