COLOR SCHEME

Don’t you love it when your brain works in unknowing synchronicity with itself? The power of consistent thought, or being drawn to the same sort of things, over and over, without even knowing it — patterns of aesthetic, or maybe just taste. I recently reorganized my closet and was humbled by the overpowering amount of chambray. How did I never notice? Similarly, it wasn’t until well after I returned home from the farmer’s market that I realized that absolutely every item in my canvas bag was a deep, ominous shade of gothy purple-black. Burgundy beans. Black cherry tomatoes. Black baby artichokes. Purple scallions. A dish of ripe figs. Several avocados. I was unpacking my bag, pulling out each scarlet item one by one, and noticing a somber trend. I guess I was feeling moody?

Leave a Reply

