STAINED GLASS BODY

[Albert + Gillian Maysles at their home in Harlem, via The Selby]

Gillian, why is maximalism better than minimalism?

Because you can collage everything you ever have been given by all your friends + family + visitors in all your life. It’s not about possessions, it’s about memory + attachments.

 

2 responses to “STAINED GLASS BODY

  1. Excellent place, non? I posted some of these images back in September as well: http://ambergoodwyn.com/2010/09/25/home-as-souvenir-memorial/

    All the best!
    A

    • I seriously can’t get over this place. It’s been on my mind for months, too. I love the idea of clutter + seeing what I have in front of me, the spines of records + books, paintings everywhere, plants + plates and everything. Life is so messy… shouldn’t our houses reflect the richness of our existence?? I can’t WAIT to see what my house will look like when I’m 80!

Leave a Reply

