Jerk Chicken: It’s Not Just Heat

[All photos by Allen McInnis, courtesy of the Gazette] After alluding to it here, and after countless hours tinkering around in my kitchen and on my grill, I’m so stoked to finally share my story (and recipe!) on jerk chicken. I really wanted my jerk recipe to seem super approachable for the home chef, and it’s really as simple as spinning a marinade around in a blender, and exercising some patience while the meat barbecues super slowly and gently. The results are almost as good as anything I had in Jamaica, and I was thrilled with how it came out. I plan on making it all summer long!

Read the full story in today’s Montreal Gazette!

Also, wondering about my rad apron? It was designed by my dear friend Meredith Towsand. I love mine and wear it all the time.

And finally, thanks to Cheryl (whose blog I adore) for the wonderful mention in Simple Lovely Blog! What greater pleasure is there in the world than to inspire each other?

2 responses to “Jerk Chicken: It’s Not Just Heat

  1. I fell in love with jerk chicken in Jamaica also. I was told about a place that was literally in the grass between to roads. Locals considered it the best and I had to agree. I can’t wait to try your version. By the way, congratulations on the article.

    • thanks! and yes — i went to so so many jerk push carts in jamaica. we went to nicer places, too, but my favorite places were always the tiny carts on the side of the road.

Leave a Reply

